Photography Rainbow, Fort Collins, Colorado Photographer

I was honored to be invited to participate in this blog circle for Share Six, with the kick-off theme of GREEN! At the bottom of my post, please follow the link for another amazing photographer’s blog post and work.

Green is my favorite color from an 8-color crayon box, but my husband and I always joke that I have more crayons in my box than he does. In a 64-color box, I’d be torn between turquoise and chartreuse. In any event, I was asked to blog 6 images, in addition to my green image, so naturally I created my own personal theme for this post, incorporating GREEN and that is: RAINBOW! Without further adieu, here is my Ode to Mr. ROY G BIV!

750_6373_LR1400
Red

RED.
I bought my daughter that red jacket at a thrift shop a few years back and she had never worn it. Then one day recently, she put it on and walked out into the snowy landscape. I adore the dramatic contrast between it and the snow. Her little pink bear completes this childhood dream for me.

 

750_9069_LR1400
Sunset Wheelin’

ORANGE.
My family recently went for a quick evening hike-bike-scooter and tree-climbing outing on the trails right by our neighborhood. We scored a rainbow of colors all around us, with pink and purple skies to the Southeast and this blazing Western sky over the Rockies. I shot this just as we exited the trail and headed back to the neighborhood street.

 

DSC_4733_LR1400
Yellowstone

YELLOW.
While at Yellowstone and parked beside this banana yellow Camaro, the stars aligned when that vintage Yellowstone bus and raven positioned themselves just so. I shot this through the driver side window, from the passenger side, way back in 2010, but I always enjoy coming across it.

 

750_9595_LRPE_LR1400
Tulip in Snow

GREEN – The moment you’ve all been waiting for! 
This was my first full Colorado Winter and it lasted just a bit too long for my taste, even though we had beautiful days in the mix to help my sanity. The Spring bulbs in our new gardens could not have been more welcome, especially as they peaked out from a blanket of mid-April snow. I particularly enjoyed photographing the tulips, for their gorgeous and varying structures and their sturdy, lovely leaves. (Disclaimer: even though Winter seemed long, many friends from around the country complained of the same, and I wouldn’t trade our Colorado Summers for anything!)

 

Rockabilly
Rockabilly

BLUE.
Rockabilly Bass, Pearl Street. This guy had high energy and belted out the likes of Johnny Cash, while traversing his bass like a small playground. I love the details of his shoes, his cuffs, the tape on the bass, and the bits of orange and green complementing his blues.

After the rain

INDIGO.
It was December and had been raining and dreary for days. My kids were very young and I was always right there with them. However, when the rain broke for a few minutes, I took a chance and snuck outside to escape cabin fever and look for beauty to cheer me up. The background color I found for this decorative grass gave the image a boost, and me some joy, despite the weather. This photograph is a personal reminder that beauty can often be found in the most unexpected place and times.

Cabbage
Cabbage

VIOLET.
Cabbage! Y’all already know how much I adore macro photography. I love putting a spotlight on ordinary, beautiful subjects at this scale. And how about that gorgeous color, the lacy edges, and the textures of the leaves? I display a print of this in a beautiful, shabby chic, lemon yellow frame in my home and it is delicious!

Thank you all so much for checking out my work a bit more. As I noted above, this blog post is part of a circle blog – my first – and it should be lots of fun for everyone who takes the time to follow along! Please link here to check out Sharleen N Stuart Photography’s blog post and show her some love! 

You can find me online in the following places:

Website/Blog: http://rootsandtwigs.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rootsandtwigs
Etsy Fine Art Prints: https://www.etsy.com/shop/RootsAndTwigsPhotos
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rootsandtwigsphotography
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/rootsandtwigs

 

 

6 thoughts on “Photography Rainbow, Fort Collins, Colorado Photographer

    1. Thank you Brandi! As it turns out, I wasn’t clear on the instructions! I didn’t MEAN to go astray with non-green things. But that’s another story. Rainbow it is today, but I may feel compelled to add an all-GREEN post soon to make up for my misunderstanding!

Leave a comment